A conversation with a Presto subscriber

Late-Night-Presto-Facebook

Even though I am CEO of Presto, sometimes I struggle to find the right words to communicate the value that Presto computerless email provides to families. Two weeks ago on a Sunday evening, I logged onto Facebook and saw that I had a message from a Presto subscriber. The rest of this blog post is that conversation, printed here with her permission. — Peter Radsliff, PrestoCEO

Conversation started November 10

11/10, 7:00pm 


Keara:
Peter, I will sadly no longer be a Presto customer as my father, 89, passed away in 2012 and my mother, 88, died just one week ago. I remain grateful, however, for all the help you and Charlie gave me during the 5 years that I was a customer. I sent literally at least 2,000 emails during that time! I will remain a big Presto printer fan.

11/10, 8:47pm 


PrestoCEO
:
Dear Keara, I am SO sorry to hear about your mom. My thoughts and prayers are with her, you and your family. I am glad that Presto could bring some happiness into your parent’s lives. And thank you also for your kind words to others about Presto. Please feel free to contact me anytime, and let me know if there is ever anything I can do for you. Would you like me to initiate cancellation of your Presto service so you don’t need to call?

11/10, 8:52pm 


Keara
:
Thank you very much, Peter, for your kind words. I truly appreciate them. Actually I had known for the past two months that my mother would never be able to return to independent living and so had asked Charlie to cancel my service at that time, which he kindly did. I must say also that Charlie was always terrific to me, helping out so politely any time there was a problem of any kind. And again, Presto was such a big part of my parents’ and my own life for all these five long years. I was always on the lookout for a funny or beautiful or interesting picture to send them. I will always be a big Presto supporter! Thank you again for your sympathy.

11/10, 8:57pm 


PrestoCEO
:
Of course, Keara. It’s people like you, and your mom and dad that are the reason I get up and go to work at Presto every day.

11/10, 8:59pm 


Keara:
I’ve always felt that Presto was pretty unique because it’s main purpose was basically one of kindness. It’s hard to think of anything else that exists just for that reason. I’m very glad to think that your work is rewarding to you for that very reason.

11/10, 9:02pm 


Keara
:
Also, I do feel proud of the many uses to which I was able to put the printer — enlarging sports articles for my father; sending reminders to my mother; not just family photos but all kinds of pictures that I found online and sent because they were funny or sweet or interesting or beautiful. At holiday time I sent lots of sacred art, along with explanations of the different symbolisms. It turned out to be very educational for all of us!

11/10, 9:03pm


 Keara
:
Primarily, though, it was a way of providing them with proof, almost every day, that I was thinking of them. The dailiness of it was so important.

11/10, 9:20pm


 PrestoCEO
:
Thanks for those insights. It helps me better understand Presto’s value.

11/10, 9:27pm 


Keara
:
My pleasure.

11/10, 9:30pm


 Keara:
In my case, I certainly did put the printer to a very wide variety of purposes. As just one more example – when my parents could no longer go to church on Sundays, I would select a church that was interesting for one reason or another and send them photos of that church on Sundays. In this way, we all came to learn a lot about some of the most historical churches in America.

11/10, 9:32pm


 PrestoCEO
:
What a fabulous idea that is!

11/10, 9:33pm


 Keara
:
Thank you.  It was pretty cool, if I do say so myself.

11/10, 9:36pm


 Keara
:
Another anecdote…my father was confined to his room in a nursing home for almost four years, and my mother would spend the day in that room with him. (We have been through some quite difficult times.) I would send my mother new photos of family and relatives and friends, but also would find photos of people and places she associated with her childhood online. She would cut these photos out of the emails and pin them up around my father’s room. Eventually she had covered the entire door to the room with these photos printed out on the Presto printer!  They gave her a kind of comfort, and gave both us and any guests something fun to talk about.

11/10, 9:37pm


 Keara
:
Again, I want to stress that all these photos came through Presto emails.

11/10, 9:38pm 


PrestoCEO
:
The real magic here is you being an amazing daughter.

11/10, 9:39pm 


Keara
:
Another time the Presto printer kind of saved us in a small emergency. My sister had made a special trip to help my mother address and sign all her Christmas cards, of which she always sent a great many. My sister was a bit panicked because she could not find the address list. I had an address list but was rather far away. So I just sent the address list by means of the printer — voila! the problem was solved.

11/10, 9:39pm 


PrestoCEO
:
Clever

11/10, 9:40pm 


Keara
:
Well, that is very kind of you. There was genuine magic, though. For years my parents and I had had quite a difficult relationship. The printer enabled me to show them, day after day, that I cared for them. This was good for me, and good for them.

11/10, 9:41pm 


PrestoCEO
:
Yes, I have heard often that having a communication medium that allows non-real time communication (i.e. not phone or in person) sometime facilitates relationship building. Like writing letters, but faster









.

11/10, 9:42pm 


Keara
:
One more thought that you might find of some interest — my emails were written mostly at night, often just before I went to bed. It became a kind of Zen practice, or almost a prayer, to compose an email, almost always with one or more pictures, for them each night. Like a blessing on them before going to bed.  Because it was a loving message, it did me good too.

11/10, 9:42pm 


Keara
:
Yes, faster but also with less potential for conflict.

11/10, 9:43pm 


PrestoCEO
:
Wow. I’ve never heard that before, the nighttime ritual. Very powerful. Thank you for sharing.

11/10, 9:50pm 


Keara
:
Peter, it’s late here and I’ll be signing off now.  I’ve enjoyed our exchange very much and really appreciate the opportunity to talk with you as we have. Wishing many blessings on you and all your undertakings.

11/10, 9:51pm


 PrestoCEO
:
Thank you, Keara. Let’s do stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

